Butterfly Summer

Heftet / 2012 / Engelsk

Produktdetaljer

ISBN13
9781409538592
Publisert
2012
Utgiver
Vendor
Usborne Publishing Ltd
Aldersnivå
02, JC
Språk
Product language
Engelsk
Format
Product format
Heftet
Sider
336
Vekt
220 gr
Høyde
197 mm
Bredde
131 mm
Tykkelse
16 mm
Se alle
Forfatter

Butterfly Summer

Heftet / 2012 / Engelsk
Some secrets last a lifetime. When Becky and her mum move to the tiny village of Oakbridge, Mum is hoping for a new beginning. But when Becky discovers an old photo of her mum in hospital clutching a baby, twelve years before Becky was born, Becky becomes haunted by the thought that her mum is keeping something from her. Stifled by her mum's over-protectiveness and depressive moods, Becky feels more alone than ever. The only place she finds comfort is at the beautiful local Butterfly Garden with her new friend, the wild-spirited and impulsive Rosa May. But Becky can't shake off the unanswered questions. Why can't she swim? Where is her dad? Who is the baby in the photo? And why is her mum lying to her? As the two girls spend more time together however, Rosa May's unpredictable temper and possessive streak suggests that she is hiding something as well...and in the heat of the sun-drenched summer, it seems that Becky is the only one in the dark.
Les mer
When Becky and her mum move to the tiny village of Oakbridge, Mum is hoping for a new beginning. But when Becky discovers an old photo of her mum in hospital clutching a baby, twelve years before Becky was born, Becky becomes haunted by the thought that her mum is keeping something from her.
Les mer
'Suspenseful and intriguing' - Sophie McKenzie; 'Secrets and mysteries abound in Anne-Marie conway's haunting novel, BUTTERFLY SUMMER. Becky and her mother have moved to a small village for a fresh start but when Becky finds an old photo of her mother with a baby, taken 12 years before Becky herself was born, questions need to be answered. Like just why is her mother so afraid of water? Perhaps Becky's new friend Rosa May holds the answer' - The Sunday Express; 'Conway drops clues deftly into the water with hardly a ripple - reread this gently nostalgic mystery and you will be astonished at what you missed the first time' - The Jewish Chronicle; 'Like the sun glinting on a butterfly's wing, there's both light and darkness in Anne-Marie Conway's outstanding novel...[Butterfly Summer] gets to the heart of childhood dilemmas whilst unravelling mysteries from the past. A terrific read for youngsters aged nine and over' - Lancashire Evening Post; 'This gentle but gripping book is a tale of friendship and the paranormal and is perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Karen McCombie' - Booktrust; 'What makes this one special is the brooding atmosphere of secrets waiting to be discovered, which builds like a gathering summer storm' - Books for Keeps; 'This book does not try to lessen the impact of depression and loss, and weaves them into an incredibly moving and thrilling tale. The ending is both shocking and sad, and thoroughly satisfying. Highly recommended' - Carousel; 'A gripping story for young teens' - Friends of the Earth
Les mer
Anne-Marie Conway is a primary school teacher specialising in drama, but also runs her own children's theatre company, Full Circle. She lives in London with her husband, two young sons and two eccentric cats, Betty and Boo. Anne-Marie's first book, Phoebe Finds Her Voice, was shortlisted for the inaugural Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition.
Les mer
Nettpris:
146,-
Levering 3-20 dager

Produktdetaljer

ISBN13
9781409538592
Publisert
2012
Utgiver
Vendor
Usborne Publishing Ltd
Aldersnivå
02, JC
Språk
Product language
Engelsk
Format
Product format
Heftet
Sider
336
Vekt
220 gr
Høyde
197 mm
Bredde
131 mm
Tykkelse
16 mm
Se alle
Forfatter